Where has time gone?

Sunday is a day for relaxation and contemplation

It has been over a month since I last blogged. I really want to make sure I keep up with this, but also, I’ve come to accept you can’t always do everything!

I’ll have been here three and a half months. Time has flown by.

This is going to be a bit of an update; how teaching has been, what I’ve been doing in my free time… but also things to be aware of when coming to China. The good, the bad and the not so great.

A few weeks ago, I got ill, to be quite honest I’d been burning the candle at both ends. In my previous blog I mentioned about joining rugby and I am so bloody glad that I found the Aardvark’s because they are a fantastic set of people and I’ve got stuck into the sport. Before I go on, if you are coming to China alone, or going to live in another country – join a social/sports team. It’s been the best thing for me personally. I am naturally a sociable active person and it has been a godsend for keeping fit but also having people to speak to and having connections.

Aardvark team talk at Sino 10’s

Anyway, the combination of training every week, playing every Saturday as well as the poor air quality, took its toll and I wasn’t well. My colleagues being the caring individuals they are, told me to go straight to the doctors (it was a bad cold at best). I went and had quite a humorous interaction with the doctors and nurses at my local clinic. Basically, there is zero embarrassment and patient confidentiality, I had a thermometer under my armpit in no time whilst the doctor was seeing another patient in the same room. Honestly, I didn’t mind it. The staff are super friendly and want to help! Although there are lots of medications that they can give you. I have to say, compared to the UK the efficiency of going to the doctors, being seen is a much better standard. The medication I was given also worked a treat, alongside the good old “hot water” which will fix every ailment you have.

Whilst being ill, I reached a low point. The whole week just wasn’t positive. It’s probably the one and only time I wanted to bugger off home properly. A culmination of being poorly, lessons not working as I’d wanted and just feeling quite alone. I guess what I’m trying to say is that shit happens and that was a shitty time. Also, speaking to my close pal here, she was having a similar situation and together we moaned and vented as anyone would. You just push through it, because there are worse things happening. But it gets better! If you’re living anywhere you have down times, it’s natural.

Now, I don’t want to put anyone off. But when you are feeling down, every little thing that you dislike seems to be emphasised, so I’m going to just provide so things that get me down/irritate me here but I want to also end positively because I’m genuinely having a great time and truly believe that this whole experience will be memorable and beneficial to me.

I miss being able to drink cold water from a tap. Don’t take that for granted. Because here, you drink warm/hot water or bottled water. Sometimes when it’s 34 degrees you just need a cold drink of water and you haven’t always got that. It’s just a basic need. I also don’t have running hot water in my kitchen which I was told after I’d moved in (I just presumed I’d have it, silly me). I used to love cooking at home, but here I’ve kind of lost the buzz for it, for one; food is so cheap you can eat out or order in a meal for the equivalent of £3. Crazy! Secondly; I tend to be that busy and tired I just don’t have the time!

Mad love for the dumplings in Livat Sky Food Court (22 yuan)

Dogs. I love them. There is loads of them here. Not strays, but people have a gazillion poodles. My residency has so many dogs, my main issue? People don’t clean up the poop. It drives me crazy.

Plastic. This is my BIGGEST hate. Even writing about it now I’m fuming. I know that China are developing better methods for renewable energy; solar/hydro and nuclear… but oh man. There is so much plastic everywhere for everything and I honestly don’t think people are aware or are just ignorant to the situation. Everything comes in plastic. There are great places to buy fruit and veg from, but everything is bagged separately to be weighed, then I’m given another bag to bag those bags. It stresses me out so much, my local ‘corner shop’ now know never to give me a bag aha, I refuse every time! Even drinks are put in little bags. There are bins that have the recyclable sign on, but I don’t know if it actually is recycled, I only know that there are some individuals that come around every so often and collect recyclables. I definitely think there needs to be more education in this area because it saddens me seeing it every day.

Loneliness. Now, I am rarely ‘alone’ and usually if I am it’s by choice. I’ve also got some solid friends here. When I write ‘loneliness’ there is a meaning of isolation. The language barrier is hard, and although I can be surrounded by my lovely colleagues, I do have quite a lot of time alone with my thoughts. Once my planning is done for the week there is quite a bit of time between classes where I don’t have much to do at all. There are times where I miss home, but it is what it is.

Since I live in Fengtai, I am relatively far from the centre of Beijing and … rugby training/games. I’ve learned to live with it, but I would say that it is by far the most difficult thing about China for me. I love my school and have grown fond of my apartment, however, living far away is a big draw back. The first purchase I made was getting a bike, so that I could ride to and from the subway so I wouldn’t be relying on the last bus home. I would highly recommend using bikes to get places, there are some good cycle lanes, the main issue as always is to stay safe and be wary of others.

WeChat. Let me tell you about WeChat. You can pretty much do just about everything with this app. It’s kind of scary. You can pay for everything with your phone. If you lose/break your phone, you’re lost. I can’t stress this enough. It’s very accessible and helpful. Compared to England the use of QR codes is phenomenal. Although, it does make you question the actual value of money as everything is virtual. It just feels odd but so convenient. If I could use one word to describe China; convenient would be it!

You never realise how much you go on your phone and need it to communicate with ‘the outside world’ until your VPN is shut down. Whether it’s for political reasons or just a bad signal, it sucks not being able to get on even the most basic things online. It usually stops working at the most awkward times when you need it the most too. It’s just something you must live with and something I will be very glad to not have to worry about when I’m back in the UK. Continuing with the topic of phones… If I could include a picture what sums up China, it would be this *insert picture of everyone on their phones on the subway* Don’t get me wrong! I’m an avid phone user, it’s habit, it’s now a deep part of our culture, but you’re only shocked into realising this when you see it on the subway. Super intrigued as to how life is going to be in 30-50 years’ time.

Smoking. I can’t stand it. I’m very open and honest about this. Coming from England where it was banned in public places, it is so noticeable here and quite sad. Pollution here is heavy enough, put smoking into the mix and it is an unhealthy concoction. I never have anything against people smoking if it’s not around me, but here it’s hard to avoid. Shove it in your pipe and smoke it elsewhere. Thankyou, next.

On a positive note; I know this sounds like a big ol’ rant but honestly day to day life is great, school life is fun and the social life even better. You’ve got to milk it. Appreciate the little things. One thing I have noticed is the level of community in my neighbourhood. It’s fantastic, old and new coming together, staying out late – chatting, playing games and dancing. You don’t really get that back home! Not the midnight dancing anyway. I think I have been extremely lucky in my placement here.

A group of locals dancing in Ditan Park and a boy and his kite below

Today (as I write this) it is my birthday! 25 on the 25th! This will never happen again and I’m very appreciative of the wonderful colleagues and friends I have at school. I have been spoiled here. Feeling very thankful right now.

My next blog will possibly be rugby heavy and following this, I start my adventures on the 15th July, so I’ll be blogging all about my trip to Cambodia, on to Vietnam, then Hong Kong and southern China.

Leave a comment